Our First Nicolas Winding Refn Film: A Surreal, Sinister and Simultaneously Straightforward Treat

Good evening, all. I just got back from director Nicolas Winding Refn’s The Neon Demon, starring Elle Fanning, Jena Malone, Bella Heathcote and Abbey Lee.

I’ve structured the film as per its very subjectively appraised acts and I’ll have both that and the full review up later tomorrow morning.

Inverse.com
Director Nicolas Winding Refn at the New York premiere of The Neon Demon (Inverse.com Photo)

The unexpected – though incredibly anticipated – thing about this is that I, on a distinctly personal note, always thought that I’d start looking into Nicolas Winding Refn’s filmography with 2008’s Valhalla Rising or 2011’s Drive.

The Neon Demon, without spoiling anything (yet), is wonderful in terms of the metaphor it seems to use and the often supernatural overtones and cinematography that it uses. But more on that tomorrow.

Thank you all for your patience thus far and I hope to get back on track with the look into director Sam Mendes’ filmography and more over the week ending Saturday.

Best regards,

Ayub Salim

Editor and Writer,

The Cinemorph

Leave a comment